Thoughts on Parenthood

Parenthood

  • The tender feeling in my heart upon seeing a close friend’s kid and being amazed by how wonderfully life replicates itself.
  • The mind-blowing realization that I am no longer just one person – a part of me lives, breathes in another being.
  • The life lesson that what matters is not what I say to my kids but what I do because I know that they are watching my life unfold before them.
  • The joy of sharing my interests with my children – of introducing them to people, things, places I love.
  • Conversely, learning to love new things that they experiment with.
  • Reliving the angst of innocence all over again through my child.
  • The realization that love is solely in the giving, not in taking/ asking/ demanding.
  • The life lesson that too much of anything- love, care, affection does not nourish but smothers.
  • Learning from my mistakes and learning to let my kids make their own mistakes.
  • Knowing and remembering every misstep I have made as a parent and still hearing “I love you as you are” from my kid. If only I could learn to love with that compassion and humility.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Parenthood

  1. Kids sheer innocence and enthusiasm rubs off on us, parents ! Kids have power to invoke love and compassion in adults. Love your thoughts on parenthood Preeti !

    Like

Share your thoughts

